Iowa House and Senate Committee Chairs Announced

ITR looks forward to working with these leaders as we lead the charge to allow Iowans to keep more of their money.

Iowa Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver and House Speaker Pat Grassley announced committee chairs for the upcoming legislative session.

Heading the tax-writing Ways and Means Committees will be Senator Dan Dawson and Representative Bobby Kaufmann.

In recent years, Senator Dawson and Representative Kaufmann are proven to be strong, conservative leaders. They were instrumental in Iowa’s recent tax reform victories, and ITR looks forward to working with them in our effort to allow Iowans to keep more of their money.

Iowa Republicans picked up seats in both chambers and now hold a 34-16 supermajority in the Senate and a 64-36 majority in the House.

“The first supermajority in the Iowa Senate in 5 decades is ready to deliver results for Iowans,” said Majority Leader Whitver. “I am eager to get to work with my fellow Republican Senators to help Iowans combat inflation, reduce barriers to job creation, and continue to implement our historic income tax cuts.”

Speaker Grassley said, “After further growing our Majority this election, our caucus now represents all 99 of Iowa’s 99 counties. We are in a better position than ever to listen to Iowans and deliver on their priorities in this upcoming session.”

Senate Committee Chairs for the 90th General Assembly:

Agriculture: Sen. Dawn Driscoll, Williamsburg
Appropriations: Sen. Tim Kraayenbrink, Fort Dodge
Commerce: Sen. Waylon Brown, Osage
Education: Sen. Ken Rozenboom, Pella
Ethics: Sen. Tom Shipley, Nodaway
Government Oversight: Sen. Amy Sinclair, Allerton, who also was elected president of the Iowa Senate
Health and Human Services: Sen. Jeff Edler, State Center
Judiciary: Sen. Brad Zaun, Urbandale
Local Government: Sen. Jesse Green, Boone
Natural Resources and Environment: Sen. Annette Sweeney, Alden
Rules and Administration: Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver, Grimes
State Government: Sen. Jason Schultz, Schleswig
Technology: Sen. Chris Cournoyer, LeClaire
Transportation: Sen. Mike Klimesh, Spillville
Veterans Affairs: Sen. Jeff Reichman, Montrose
Ways and Means: Sen. Dan Dawson, Council Bluffs
Workforce: Sen. Adrian Dickey, Packwood

House Committee Chairs for the 90th General Assembly:

Administrative Rules Review: Rep. Megan Jones, Sioux Rapids
Agriculture: Rep. Mike Sexton, Rockwell City
Appropriations: Rep. Gary Mohr, Bettendorf
Commerce: Rep. Shannon Lundgren, Peosta
Economic Growth: Rep. Ray Sorensen, Greenfield
Education: Rep. Skyler Wheeler, Hull
Education Reform: Rep. Pat Grassley, New Hartford *The Education Reform Committee will be a 5-person committee dealing with bills containing significant reforms to our educational system.
Environmental Protection: Rep. Dean Fisher, Montour
Ethics: Rep. Anne Osmundson,  Volga
Government Oversight: Rep. Brooke Boden, Indianola
Human Resources: Rep. Ann Meyer, Fort Dodge
International Relations: Rep. Eddie Andrews, Johnston
Judiciary: Rep. Steve Holt, Denison
Labor: Rep. Dave Deyoe, Nevada
Local Government: Rep. Shannon Latham, Sheffield
Natural Resources: Rep. Tom Jeneary, Le Mars
Public Safety: Rep. Phil Thompson, Jefferson
State Government: Rep. Jane Bloomingdale, Northwood
Transportation: Rep. Brian Best, Glidden
Veterans Affairs: Rep. Chad Ingels, Randalia
Ways & Means: Rep. Bobby Kaufmann, Wilton

Subscribe To Our Newsletter